SEA Website Header TaglineSEA 18 WOT

The SEA is proud to be a member-driven organization, dedicated to the teaching and development of future anesthesiologists, and to the advancement of those who educate them.

McLeskey Lecturers

The McLeskey lectureship is an honor bestowed upon individuals who have demonstrated substantial contributions to medical education and leadership. Each year, the selected McLeskey lecturer presents at the SEA Fall Meeting. Below are the past McLeskey lecturers.


  McLeskey Lecturer

2017 Wiley “Chip” Souba, MD, ScD, MBA
How Physician Educators Lead and Shape Healthcare Transformation
2016 Kevin B. Weiss, MD
Building the Pathway to Better Care through Improved Clinical Learning Environments
2015 David J. Murray, M.D.
The Role of Performance Assessments in Board Certification and Recertification
2014  Neil Mehta, MD, FACP – USA
From Digital Badges to IBM Watson: Trends in Medical Education
2013  Catherine R. Lucey, MD – USA
Medical Education: Part of the Problem and Part of the Solution
2012  Jim Scott, MD – USA
Educating Residents in Healthcare Policy

Richard Dutton, MD, MBA – USA
Using Quality Data to Guide Education

2010  Jeanine P. Wiener-Kronish, MD – USA
Training Anesthesiologists for the Next 30 Years
2009  Frank G. Opelka, MD, FACS – USA
Health System Reform: Moving from Volume to a Value Base
2008  Steven L. Shafer, MD – USA
The Future - How Should We Educate Our Residents for Medical Practice in 2020?
2007  Ronald D. Miller, MD – USA [PDF File of Lecture]
The Relationship between Anesthesia Educational Systems and Societal Opportunities and Needs
2006  Douglas R. Bacon, MD, MA – USA
The Future of Academic Anesthesiology
2005  Michael F. Roizen, MD – USA
Anesthesiology in 2025
2004  Roger J. Eltringham, MB, ChB – UNITED KINGDOM
Education for Anesthesia on an International Scale

Additional information